Being Selfish?! Everyone has different needs!

Everyday we learn something new, and recently I have come to a thought (which seems much like a conclusion to me as I am positive this is the right way to think) which has struck me over the past month or so.
Here is the line to summarize exactly what I am thinking:

 

 Everyone has different needs, if we all do the same thing, the beneficial level of each individual will vary (and often quite a big varience).

 

Maybe the above is not so well put, but I hope you get the gist of what I am saying. In the above I am not refering to anything in particular, but talking in very broad terms. Examples of these would be training for a particular sport, or practicing a particular skill/skillset.

Taking sport for example, we often train in groups, as this is a good way to motivate each other and there is a certain level of “competition” when people train together, which can be a big advantage as we push ourselves harder than usual. However I feel that sometimes I don’t realize (or forget) that doing some particular exercise in a group does not maximize the use of time and benefit to me, as an individual.

Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoy helping other people out, and here I am just making my point that in a group situation, regardless of the group size (10 or 1000 people) it is almost impossible to cater for everyone. Sometimes the question is not deciding and agreeing on what everyone wants to do as an entity, but to do these things individually, so that we all get 100% beneficial level out of what we are doing. After all, every individual is unique, we all have our strong and weak points, so we shouldn’t forget that sometimes the best solution is to understand that what we need depends on who we are and our individual personalities.

Leave a comment